Recently I decided to go thru a 6-year-old journal of mine. I was a newborn Christian, desperately hungry for all things Christ. Little did I know I was sitting on a gold mine of encouragement, wisdom, and faith. Though I’ve learned so many things and can see flaws in past thinking, I can see how ‘smart’ I’ve become. I need to become a little less ‘smart’and a little more ‘child-like’

I’ve decided to go thru it and to get back to the roots of it all. Thought I’d share just a few gold nuggets I found. As I keep digging and fleshing things out, I’ll keep you all updated, but for now:

  1. Barnabas is probably my favorite non Saviour person of the Bible. He’s first mentioned at the end of Acts. I love that though he initially lead Paul, he stepped down and became a powerful follower under Paul’s leadership once he saw the call on his life. That’s true leadership.
  2. Hebrews 10:35-39 Jeepers that’s a good verse! Basically “You’ve come too far and you know what waits for you at the finish line. Keep going!”
  3. Wisdom –  knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action
  4. An appreciative heart attracts gifts/blessings
  5. “Christianity is not a life improvement or behavior modification program”
  6. “The Enemy does a great job of ministering to those in the church who love the fame & power associated with helping others heal”
  7. “Your strength in life is not determined by your ability; it’s determined by God’s authority”
  8. God’s power is only potential until we convert it by faith in action
  9. Intimacy requires risk
  10. The outcomes of my life does not rest squarely on my shoulders (THANK GOD!)

 

