Sometimes you hear/see things that slap you across the face, and sometimes things just bury themselves in your brain and detonate much later.  This statement was the latter of the two: it’s more socially acceptable to hate your body than it is to love it.  That was a post from a stranger yesterday that made me sad when I read it and slowly started to piss me off as I kept replaying in my mind. ***Yes, this will be a rant***

I’ve always been a ‘love yourself’ advocate, but not in the hippy dippy idealistic way, but in (what I believe to be) a more realistic sense.  Just like you can love a person and not like everything they do, you can love your body without thinking it’s perfect.

It’s a struggle for every single one of us (men and women) to love, not just tolerate the skin we’re in.  I know a lot of people, including myself at some point in life, used the mentality that my body had to change before the way I felt about it did only to still be self-conscious when I changed it.  That’s because that thinking is totally opposite of what’s true! While I still haven’t completely gotten the hang of it, I’m starting to understand (and trying to live) that it’s the love that I have for my body that drives the devotion and my attitude to change it for the better.   

The mirror, the scale, the pants size, the bra cup, the measurements, none of that is a compass pointing me in the right direction of loving myself.  Loving who you are inside and out does not mean that you assume that there are no improvements to be made, it means you start from the view of “I am good just as I am at this very moment, now let’s get to work to be better”.

I’m responsible to take care of the body I’m in.  It’s the only one I’m going to get and there are no do-overs.  That being said, my goal is to be healthy, not skinny with a thigh gap or whatever is ‘sexy’ these days.

Now by society’s standards on attractiveness, I’m doing ok, but that was a gift I didn’t ask for nor is it one I’m ashamed of.  I had no say in what I’d look like and, really, neither did anyone else.  But that means that where I take it from here and how much say it has over who I become is a choice I make every single moment of every single day.  I shouldn’t feel more comfortable saying, “Ugh, Simone you look gross” than I am saying “You go girl”.

I see absolutely nothing wrong with make up or dressing up AT ALL, but I think it should be because you like the way it looks, not because you don’t like the way you look without it.

I don’t want to be considered cocky or full of myself but if that’s the label I have to wear just so I don’t despise the person I see every morning, then so be it.  When I have the opportunity to, I’ll do everything I can to make sure that others feel the same way.  

