Because I’m a female, they want me to be a feminist

Because my skin is brown, they want me to pretend I’m a victim

Because I’m American, they want me to be ignorant

Because I’m a Christian, they want me to be a hypocrite

Because I am in want of nothing, they expect me to be spoiled

Because I’m young, they want me to be wild

Because I’ve been hurt, they want me to have a hard heart

Because I’ve fallen, they want me to fall in

But…

Because I am a female, I am a woman

Because my skin is brown, I am African-American

Because I am an American, I was born in America

Because I am a Christian, I am a child of God

Because I am in want of nothing, I’m free to give everything

Because I am young, I haven’t hit your standard of ‘old’

Because I’ve been hurt, I am familiar with pain

Because I have fallen, I am aware I’m not perfect

Just because

