I wish I knew what he was thinking when he bent down on one knee

I wonder if I’ll still ask myself that when he’s looking up at me

I wish I knew the trust it would take to promise my entire life to one man

When I think of my current state of commitment, I hope one day that I can

I wish I knew what was going through her mind when she said “I do”

I hope if the minister asks if I’ll take this man, my reply isn’t “Who?”

I wish I knew how fast his heart was beating when she told him he’s gonna be a dad

I mean, how many “what if…” thoughts about this very moment has he had

I wish I knew what it felt like to look into my child’s eyes for the first time

Can you imagine holding a new life and thinking “he’s/she’s mine.”

My only proposal that led to my only wedding and my last one-year anniversary

Wow, I can’t even fathom what kind of emotion those events will bring to me

My husband’s reaction to parenthood and being celebrated on Mother’s day

To do it and to do it right, for that, my whole life I’m willing to pay

I’m not necessarily worried per se, just dumbfounded

How can you experience Heaven on earth and still be grounded?

I know I’m young with plenty of time to change and grow

But the things I wish I knew, I pray I somehow already know

